Office of the Information and Data Protection Commissioner


Any person who feels aggrieved by a decision of the Data Protection Commissioner shall have the right to appeal in writing to the Data Protection Appeals Tribunal within thirty (30) days from the notification to him of the said decision.

The Tribunal consists of a Chairman and two other members appointed by the Minister to represent the interests of data subjects and of data controller. On 3 January 2013, Dr Edward Debono has been re-appointed Chairman of the Tribunal together with the other two members Mr George Sammut and Dr Jennifer Casingena Harper for another period of three (3) years.

Appeals are to be sent to the following address:

     The Secretary
     Information and Data Protection Appeals Tribunal
     c/o Office of the Permanent Secretary 
     Ministry for Social Dialogue, Consumer Affairs and Civil Liberties
     Barriera Wharf,
     Valletta, VLT 2000.

Also any party to an appeal to the Tribunal who feels aggrieved by a decision of the Tribunal may on a question of law appeal to the Court of Appeal as constituted in accordance with article 41(6) of the Code of Organisation and Civil Procedure by means of an application filed in the registry of that court within thirty days from the date on which that decision has been notified.